Order Status User Account Where To Buy
You are here. Home > Air Rifles > Laser & Light Series > Varmint Hunter HP

Varmint Hunter HP .177 Cal. Air Rifle with Laser and Light

The Varmint Hunter offers all-weather durability combined with maximum performance. Light weight synthetic stock, match grade fluted barrel, and 1400 fps with PBA Platinum ammo make the Varmint Hunter perfect for small game hunting, targets, and pest control during the day or night.

Read/Write Reviews about this product...
Write Review
Product Varmint Hunter HP  [Item # 6110087154]
  Varmint Hunter HP
Your Name
(optional)
Review Details
(1000 characters max.)
Latest Owner Reviews $289.95
REVIEW BY:Mark E Fresh Saturday, May 17, 2014
At first I didn't like my new 177 varmit hunter hp but now that I'm finally use to the scope and have the feel the spring gives versus a Nitro piston it's been a great rifle. To many mixed reviews gives the buyer a feeling of (did I buy the right gun) I could do without the flashlight but that's minimal to me. I dropped two crows yesterday. The second was 40' up in a tree and about 120 yards away or close to it I dropped him with a hollow ppoint. This crow was the size of a racoon for sure. It fell straight down motionless and made a thump when hitting the earth. I am a true believer in giving this gun a fair chance. Your gun is as good as you treat it. I clean mine every 100 rounds now. Believe me when I tell you I shoot close to 350 pellets a night. My gun is still in pristine condition and it sounds funny but this gun seems to hit my target when not resting on anything. The trigger is true to the operator and I'm glad I didn't bring it back.
REVIEW BY:Brian B Sunday, April 06, 2014
Great gun. Very satisfied
REVIEW BY:zipp Monday, July 15, 2013
A good idea is to follow a break in procedure with your varmint hunter hp. Before shooting for the first time, you can make sure all bolts and connections are tight and clean the barrel with several dry clean patches. Never use standard gun oil or solvents. After your first tin of pellets you may want to run several more dry patches to keep the barrel clean. Many springer airgun have a break in period before they shoot at their top potential and no two guns will be exactly the same. Use only approved products and lubricants for cleaning and maintainance and follow directions. If your varmint hunter isn't shooting as well as it should initially, give it time and more shooting to break in and find the pellets that work the best.
REVIEW BY:zipp Wednesday, July 03, 2013
Remember applying too much pressure to the forearm and/or failing to use an adequate artillery hold will tend to send your rounds WiDe of the mark. God knows how many people have been fooled to believe that they need to re-zero their scope because of this. This Is especially true with the varmint hunter.. if you notice that your rounds are off all of a sudden, you must rule out this factor before re-zeroing. Even allowing the forearm to rest on a sandbag or other soft rest if your applying too much downward pressure can be an issue. Use a good artillery hold and when shooting from a rest, try to keep the rest point closer to the trigger guard with minimal downward pressure and all will be well.
REVIEW BY:Tony Tuesday, May 14, 2013
VARMENT B GONE! AWESOME GUN!Purchased about 4 weeks ago. We had a terrible squirrel problem. Notice I said had. This is a great choice. Powerful, accurate and durable. It will take a little bit to site in, but when you are done siting you will be hitting targets at a distance that will not scare them off. I am hitting very accurate at about 25 yds. I have not sited the laser yet. But I will be going after a few pesky raccoons at night.
REVIEW BY:Ray D. Sunday, April 21, 2013
Bought this gun a week ago...awesome! It took a bit to sight it in. Now ground hogs at 30 yards...game over. Very happy, would like to try the extreme hunter next!
REVIEW BY: Thursday, March 28, 2013
received this gun yesterday, great right oughta the box...after shooting a little while and sighting it in I managed to go 2 for 2 on grackles at 35 yards and hit a squirrel in the head at about 30 yards...love this gun very accurate and lightweight....PBA makes it a little loud though..my neighbors thought I was shooting something bigger
REVIEW BY: Tuesday, March 19, 2013
This is a great gun
REVIEW BY:jalen l. Friday, March 15, 2013
i bought this gun a week ago. abolutly the bet gun ever
REVIEW BY: Thursday, February 07, 2013
This gun is awesome. I have a ton of squirrels in my backyard. Not any more. killed about 20 last squirrel season. once the crosshairs are on the animal, its in the bag. great gun. the only bad thing is the price but its all worth it. great gun. stop what your doing and buy it!
REVIEW BY:tyler Friday, January 25, 2013
The best airgun you can get
REVIEW BY:zipp Tuesday, January 22, 2013
I have looked at some reviewers post and noticed that they referenced the plastic barrel shroud as somehow a negative thing, or cheapening of the product. I don't believe this is correct at all for several reasons. First, this plastic barrel shroud has the ability to dampen barrel vibration or harmonics, which in turn can enhance accuracy. Secondly, this obviously reduces overall weight of the gun, which makes it easier andfor faster handling when carrying the gun through woods all day. Thirdly it provides a weather-proofing feature. Pretty smart problem solving to lower production costs while coming up with ideas that enhance the quality of the product.
REVIEW BY:zipp Tuesday, January 22, 2013
There are many airgun purists that will tell you that when velocity starts building over 1000 fps accuracy declines. Acedemicaly and theoretically I agree with this in the world of airguns. Nonetheless, I find the varmint hunter hp to be a good compromise between accuracy and velocity. The varmint hunter hp is a hunting rifle, not a match rifle after all. I found it a bit picky with the pellets that it shoots well, but once I found the right ones, I can get groups at 25 yards that are dime size. This in my mind is more than suitable hunting accuracy. This along with the fact that longer range one shot kills can be had on small game makes this airgun a good deal to me. There are a lot of mixed reviews with airguns producing even higher velocity, as far as accuracy problems. I can't say for sure, but perhaps the varmint hunter hp is at the upper limit of what is practical before you get diminishing returns. Overall a great gun!
REVIEW BY:PAUL Monday, December 10, 2012
WENT TO ACADEMY TO BUY THE GAMO BIGCAT. SAW THIS RIFLE AND HAD TO HAVE IT. GOT HOME AND BLEW A HOLE ALL THE WAY THROUGH AN OIL FILTER FROM 100FT. TO SAY THE LEAST THIS THINGS A BEAST.... HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RIFLE TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR ACCURACY AND POWER....
REVIEW BY:William T Monday, December 03, 2012
I bought this rifle yesterday, my Wife gave me money for Christmas present and I bought out of my money. I've had several air rifles, been in the airforce and navy, and collect all kinds of hand guns and long guns, so I been around, and this air rifle is the best one for my money, I'm very pleased with it, i shot at a phone book with my .22 long rifle, and shot at the phone book with my air rifle, the air rifle penetrated almost the same distance. I recommend this rifle at any price range.
REVIEW BY: Sunday, December 02, 2012
I shot a deer from a 15ft tree stand at 15yd w/ gamo tomahawk pellets strait in to the brain dropped immediately.
REVIEW BY: Monday, November 19, 2012
The best gun I shot a hog with it!!!!
REVIEW BY:Matt Friday, October 19, 2012
absuloutely the best pellet rifle out there... I would bet my gamo .177 will out shoot anyone's .22rimfire... distance and accuracy...
REVIEW BY:Lucas Friday, July 27, 2012
THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST AMAZING AIR RIFLES OUT THERE FASTER THEN SOME MORE EXPENSIVE AIR RIFLES THE MOST AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!
REVIEW BY:winston Tuesday, July 10, 2012
gamo is the best all ways providing quality guns a=with power and accurate
REVIEW BY:wisconsinhunter Tuesday, June 19, 2012
i bought one of these rifles and i have 2 say "this aint your grandpas pellet gun". i shot a coyote in the head at 75 yrds and dropped it .this is the best air rifle i have ever bought and probably the last.
REVIEW BY:Swen Monday, June 18, 2012
I purchased the Varmint Hunter HP .177 Cal. air rifle just yesterday as a Father's Day gift to myself. The store representative was articulate and knowledgeable. I was looking for accuracy, durability and powerful enough to help eradicate small varmints in the area surrounding the house. The early review is very positive and meets the objectives. One less raccoon in the trees in the yard.
REVIEW BY:Alaskan Hunter Tuesday, May 29, 2012
This Rifle is truly amazing. I shot through 6 of those popcorn tin things with ease. This would easily take down anything up to and including Bob-Cats, Squirrels, Ptarmigans, Fox, and Rabbits. A lot of recoil for a pellet rifle, but not too bad. Also pretty loud. But overall, a wonderful rifle, and you should pick one up NOW!!!
REVIEW BY:RedNexican Saturday, May 19, 2012
I shot this rifle at my buddie's house, i shot a jackrabbit in the eye at 83 yards. I love it! Im ordering one this week.
REVIEW BY: Thursday, April 12, 2012
I've shot 5 squirrells at 75 yards and they are all dead for some reason lol. Also shot a rabbit with the pba platinum ammo and it went all the way through its shoulders at 50 yards, couldn't believe it. This gun is awesome I'll write another review when I bring it hog hunting.
REVIEW BY:kaden Thursday, April 05, 2012
this is the best air rifle ever i shot a hog in the ear and it dropped in its tracks great for foxs and raccoon and evan coyotes very accurate with pba and pretty quit
REVIEW BY:d Thursday, March 15, 2012
this gun is great especially with the new raptor ammo they just put out, it went half way through a 2X4 with the platinum PBA pellets
REVIEW BY:U.S.M.C sniper Tuesday, December 21, 2010
it is the best pellet gun i ever bought it is great long rang shots.
REVIEW BY: Sunday, November 21, 2010
This gun is sick!!!! It is perfect for getting rid of raccons and larger squirrells!! Buy this gun!!!


OK OK
Follow Us GAMO View Our Videos Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook RSS
Cart Empty
Search Site
Demo Products Gamo Demo Sale
Subscribe to newsletter
Please notify me via email of any Gamo specials and sales
How this benefits you?
Subscribe to newsletter

Recommend This Page
Gamo Resources

Copyright © 2010 Gamo Outdoor USA, Inc. All Rights Reserved

OK OK