Order Status User Account Where To Buy
You are here. Home > Air Rifles > Laser & Light Series > Varmint Hunter

Varmint Hunter Air Rifle with Scope

The Varmint Hunter offers all-weather durability combined with maximum performance. Light weight synthetic stock, match grade fluted barrel, and 1200 fps with PBA make the Varmint Hunter perfect for small game hunting, targets, and pest control during the day or night.

Read/Write Reviews about this product...
Write Review
Product Varmint Hunter  [Item # 6110929754]
  Varmint Hunter
Your Name
(optional)
Review Details
(1000 characters max.)
Latest Owner Reviews
REVIEW BY:Ron Saturday, July 13, 2013
I have had this gun for 3+ years. I bought it as I needed a weapon to defend my home from hordes of squirrels. They were chewing holes in the siding !! I live in a county sub-division on an wooded acre lot. I needed a very accurate and quiet gun. I was using CB caps in the .22 for a short while, but became uncomfortable with that. They laughed at me when hit with a BB gun. The gamo wipes the smile off their face - I am now feared : ) Within 200 ft - I don't miss. Louder than I was expecting but still acceptable. The scope mount will not hold the scope over time. I found the scope to be adequate at best. Last year I added the RWS 6X for $90. It will do wonders for your accuracy and field of view. Other than that, I am very pleased with the Gamo. The Gamo hollow point pellets are GREAT
REVIEW BY:aryan Monday, February 18, 2013
This is a great gun .has good scope at the night with laser and flashlight on.
REVIEW BY:dcamus Tuesday, December 21, 2010
this is a real good gun. it has a realy good scope,you can see through it perfectly at night with the flashlight on wich makes it a good gun to hunt at night with. it is worth the money
REVIEW BY:alpha10 Monday, November 29, 2010
Great gun scope sucks recomend if u buy the gun put a better scope on it.i shot several rabbits squirrels and 4 wood chuck from my garden last spring one of my favorite shooting guns.
REVIEW BY:alex Monday, November 01, 2010
great gun but i recommend buyig the big cat because its the exact same gun except with a laser and light which you can buy at Big 5 for $30. but great gun have had very successful hunts. thx GAMO.
REVIEW BY:Daniel Miranda Sunday, October 10, 2010
I own one for a few years and it has been on so many hunts still getting good results but i been using it for birds like Doves and Quail small game at about 30 to 50 yards I hit the bird but hard to put down? Scope works great but the lazer is hard to dial in a couple of my friend got themselves one its a good dependable gun.
REVIEW BY:Jay Bay Tuesday, September 28, 2010
Getting this gun very soon ive heard so much good about it. Im just your average teenager who likes hunting with his buds in old kentucky they all have good air rifles but now i think ill have the best for sure :)
REVIEW BY:nighthawk Tuesday, August 03, 2010
very cool gun but the scope sight can get knocked off if it gets bumped. went to texas with it and got very close to shooting a fox but i did not know the scope was bumbed which in turn knocked the sights off letting the fox get away.
REVIEW BY: Tuesday, July 27, 2010
wood stalk very thick front grip checkered alos very heavy side pump 177cal adjustable rear sight with rubber eye piece gamo brand longer than most noise dedner yes
REVIEW BY:no name Saturday, June 26, 2010
does this air rifle has drill holes for a front sight on it? please answer
REVIEW BY: Friday, June 25, 2010
ok hunter(june 17) is full of it no airgun is that accuarte at over 160 yards unless you were shooting an ostrich you didnt kill a bird from that far away not even from 143 yards your going to tempt people to by the gun and realize that it isnt that great next time write a realistic review
REVIEW BY:hunter Thursday, June 17, 2010
this gun is great! the scope does drift a little but that isnt hard to fix. I have killed one bird at 163 yards and another at 143 yesterday. This gun never fails i have killed many large sized varmits and rabbits with this gun! great gun gamo
REVIEW BY:DJ Saturday, June 12, 2010
I got mine over a year ago and its still a great gun. Ive killed countless birds with it and a couple of rabbits. It stays pretty accurate but the scope seems to drift. One question to anyone who will answer : does anyone know the little plastic seal around the barrels that you see when you cock it and load it? mine is completely worn away and im not sure if thats a problem or not cuz it seems to be less powerful. Can anyone help me out on this? I would really appreciate it
REVIEW BY:Shawn Tuesday, June 08, 2010
Overall I am completely happy with this gun. This is the first time I have used a scope so the difficulty in sighting it is unfair for me to rate. The overall feel of the gun: accuracy, pull-weight of the trigger, weight of the gun, and how comfortably it fires are all perfect in my opinion. I have kept it clean and it continues to fire as well as the day I bought it. The only problem I have (which does not affect most others) is that I cannot find Iron Sights. At times I still prefer to fire with that over a scope but I suppose that is just me and not too big of an issue. Overall, I am completely pleased with the Varmint Hunter and I plan on purchasing from GAMO again in the future.
REVIEW BY:chris Tuesday, June 01, 2010
I like the gun but Im very dissapointed with the scope becoming loose & drifting back. I tried some loc-tite on the set screws. hopefully that will work.
REVIEW BY:Ken from North Carolina Friday, April 30, 2010
Great Rifle...I got tired of the cheapy remington and winchester air guns. I went to Gander Mountain (the store) and picked one of these up being skeptical from my past experiences with other gun makes. I have to say i am very impressed and am glad that i didn't give up on it. THIS RIFLE WILL HIT 100 YARDS (i have the soda cans to prove it) Good quality optics...Crappy little gimmicks (Flashlight and laser) I would have liked the IR scopes. btw PBA Raptor was hitting within an inch and half at 100 yards. It goes great with this platform.
REVIEW BY:dhiraj singh Friday, April 23, 2010
nice gun 4 small hunt
REVIEW BY:trey Saturday, April 17, 2010
good gun, ive had it for a year or two. the only bad thing is that the outside of the barrel is plastic so the fluting is pointless but it looks cool.
REVIEW BY:Trey Thursday, April 08, 2010
I just bought the gun this morning i did have trouble with inconsistency but i was using lead pellets so i bought te RWS hyper max and never had a problem since. about twenty min ago i shot a coon complete darkness at about 85 yards and smoked it in the head. i have owned many air rifles your a very tough competitor with benjamin but i think i am going to stick with GAMO. the laser was a little difficult to tune in and keep it there but i got it know. keep up the great guns i will be buying more of them. THANKS GAMO!!!!
REVIEW BY:the great white hunter Saturday, April 03, 2010
I shot a chipmonk at 60 yds with it it a very good gun for the money i sighted it in and had only 1 thing i didnt like the mounts keep coming loose thats the only thing
REVIEW BY: Saturday, March 27, 2010
Have had alot of fun with th rifle. Can hit a rat running at about 20 yds. A friend and I have the same gun and both of us think the gun is nice but the light and laser suck. My laser only works when it wants to. The light on my friends worked on time and hasnt worked since.
REVIEW BY:Miles Wednesday, March 17, 2010
This gun is good except for the scope its a little hard to sight in but once you get it pretty accurate good for pest like rabbits and squirrels.
REVIEW BY:Alex Monday, February 15, 2010
the best i ever had
REVIEW BY:mark hammer Tuesday, February 09, 2010
This rifle will change your mind about pellet guns!!! I purchased two, gave one to a dear friend. He's killed about everything that either crawls or walks. It's a seriously powerful rifle. Highly recommended.
REVIEW BY:boy Tuesday, February 09, 2010
Where do i get PBA raptor pellets
REVIEW BY:brad Monday, February 08, 2010
i purchased this gun from sportsmans guide. the gun would not hold sight in .then i noticed the power was dropping because it no longer went through my backdrop. this ,of course would affect the accuuracy but it keept changing. after 400 rds. i gave up and sent it back to them. i tried 2 other scopes and it would not hold sight in. i've been wanting a gamo for years now but am very dissappointed. just thought you should know, it was an expensive lesson.if you care to contact me its at this email or 602-323-6964.i am curious about this because you're product seems well made.bhouze@cableone.net
REVIEW BY:Fred Monday, February 08, 2010
Had the gun almost a month now and really enjoy shooting it. Louder than I thoght it would be, but a quality product. I wish it had open sights, easier to shoot. Overall a great gun. Bought at Amazon at a really good price.
REVIEW BY: Sunday, February 07, 2010
I love this gun. I have recommended it to several people. I am a 57 year old woman who in the past 3 years has killed more than 300-400 squirrels from 75-85 feet. The food that grows in our yard is now being eaten by humans! I have had some problems with the scope as well. It fell off once, and I have had to sight it in 2-3 times. But when it is 'on', it's deadly. I use Crossman hollow points.
REVIEW BY: Friday, January 29, 2010
over all it is a grate gun but the scope was of a bit but i took care of it
REVIEW BY:Beasty Sunday, January 17, 2010
One word: BEAST!!!!!!!
REVIEW BY:Dan Tuesday, December 29, 2009
I never thought I would buy a pellet gun at 41yrs old but after seeing a friends I had to have one. I love it. I deer hunt with a .375 h&h and this does to a squirrel what a .375 h&h does to a deer. No following blood trails. I noticed some threads at the muzzle. Is a suppressor available that fits?????
REVIEW BY: Monday, December 28, 2009
I love this gun!! Got this for Christmas this year. The first shot was almost on the money. This gun is great for small hunting. I have no problems with this gun.
REVIEW BY:mark Saturday, December 26, 2009
Great gun! This is the first air rifle that I have owned, even though I have shot many over the years. I have many rifles and shotguns, and have been shooting for 50 years. It is fun to shoot and the family get-to-gether competetions are certainly a blast. I would advise anyone who likes to plink to buy one. My gun has been passed around my neighborhood to address squirrel and muskrat problems. Got it back and the scope was still zeroed. A good purchase.
REVIEW BY:raymond Friday, December 25, 2009
I just got it 4 Christmas BUT IT WAS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT
REVIEW BY:T-Nelson Friday, December 18, 2009
Great gun!! I bought this gun about a year ago and i almost instantly fell in love with it.I did have some problems with the zero at first but after some fine tuning and tightening i soon found the answer to my problem. I like pellet rifles that are able to kill a squirrel at 75 yards easy. I've taken more difficult shot's with it at 95 with my personal best at 101. I love the rifle and recommend it to anybody wanting to kill small game with in the back yard or even 100 yards out. p.s ammo of choice crossman hollow points.
REVIEW BY: Saturday, December 12, 2009
This gun has to be the best air rifle i hav owned it can take down raccon and squirls with ez but its hard to sight in overall its a great gun.
REVIEW BY: Thursday, December 10, 2009
Very good gun
REVIEW BY:im de best Wednesday, December 09, 2009
hey i took out a needle at thirty yards beet that
REVIEW BY:awsome!!!! Saturday, October 24, 2009
the gun is fast and even faster wit PBA. but a little less acurate with them. unconsistant scope, but over all good!!!
REVIEW BY:Glenn Tuesday, October 06, 2009
The hardest hitting airgun I've ever used. Use the "scope stop" accessory to stop scope creep. You should be able to use it on anything the size of a juvenile pig or smaller. Headshots are key tho'. Happy hunting
REVIEW BY:Tommy Sunday, September 27, 2009
Excellent rifle does great job killing rabbits. Even with body hits the rabbits rarely take a few hops they usually drop instantly with PBA ammo. Deadly!
REVIEW BY:Gary Sunday, August 23, 2009
Great Air Rifle. Some problem with the scope but think it is me and not the scope. If you want a keeper this is the one to get.
REVIEW BY:marc Saturday, August 08, 2009
nice gun for the money. shoots through 1/2" plywood at 20 yards and was easy to sight in. can't wait to try on varmints.
REVIEW BY:Highplains Drifter Sunday, June 28, 2009
Very powerfull gun, perfect for urban wildlife hunting. Took a rabbit out one shot with no chicken choking. I do get some drift with different pellets however I use the gold PBA and my hits are a half dallor size in pattern at about 20 yds. Love the lazer on the scope, I can hit a egg very easy at 20 yds in total darkness.
REVIEW BY:Chuck Norris Monday, June 01, 2009
Thank u gamo best airgun ever. definately worth more than u r selling it 4
REVIEW BY: Monday, June 01, 2009
Hey people. Within my first hour of using this gun, it became my favorite. I have a daisy grizzly and this blows it away. Best bb and pellet gun I have ever owned, used, or seen.
REVIEW BY:Justin Barber Thursday, May 07, 2009
very clean shooting gun my brother bought it and lets me shoot it. It litterally picks off sparrows crows and rabbits even bullfrogs. only problem i have is finding a place to sight in have it shooting about a hulf dollar size pattern or so at roughly 30-35 yards. looking forward to buying hunter extreme for myself in a coupe of weeks. i love gamo!
REVIEW BY:attila Wednesday, April 08, 2009
the gun shoot very well, the scope is was moving for me to but i put a peice of alumenum bettween the upper housing and the clamping screw ( it leved out the bracket ) it has not moved sence. i will have to make a youtube video one day. mabe this weekend. studentofscience is the handle. very good gun
REVIEW BY:jeff workman Thursday, March 26, 2009
great rifle,shoots great,easy and quick to load, scope is clear but didn't last had to replace rec a scope stop to stop scope from working its way off rifle. lots of power for a air rifle
REVIEW BY:doug Tuesday, March 17, 2009
A friend of mine got this rifle last week and we took it out to try it out, we measured 50 yards and set targets up as well as some old liters and did discover trigger creep, we adjusted the trigger and that took care of the problem. I was so impressed I went down and orderd one for myself!
REVIEW BY:Ryan Saturday, February 21, 2009
Just bought gun today. looks and feels great. too dark to try and sight in outside, so decided to use basement. If you're like me, going from a pump gun to this, it WILL wake you up! Only had 35 feet to shoot in doors, and sighting this gun in at that range wasn't fair to the power it has. the PBA ammo goes right through 1/2" plywood backstop! After about 300 rounds (lead), still get some VERY inconsistent shots tho, like an inch out of the group, even when resting the gun on sturdy table, Could be the mile long trigger pull. I prefer repeatability over everything else. I've shot cigarette lighters at 100 feet with an old .22 sheridan w/open sites, So this gun and it's scope better be able to do it at 35 feet with no wind! You def cannot mix ammo without re-siting in too. just changing to diff pellet raised or lowered shot over 2" at 35'! I'll give it the "field test" in the a.m. and then decide if i keep 'er. Got the .22 whisper on the way anyhow, can't wait to try that one out!
REVIEW BY:13yroldmarksman Wednesday, January 14, 2009
i took a squirrel out from around 15 yards with stock scope and can hit a bullseye from about 40 with the stock scope its an awesome gun
REVIEW BY:Yukon the Buckslayer Tuesday, January 13, 2009
After two years the list of game taken includes squirrel, opposum, coon, pidgeon,feral cat. Laser and light make for great coon hunts at night and the price is right. Varmint Hunter is aptly named. Thanks GAMO!
REVIEW BY:Lane Channell Tuesday, December 30, 2008
I've personally been extremely successful with my GAMO Varmit Hunter! Squirrels, opposms, coons, many small varmits around my home! I'd recommend it to anyone who hunts small game or has other critter problems!
REVIEW BY:Sniper67 Sunday, December 28, 2008
Great gun! Hard hitting and accurate once it is sighted in. But stock scope is terrible! I replaced it with a center point ar22. I took a squirrel from 35yrds. this gun is amazing. Good job Gamo.
REVIEW BY:squirrel buster Tuesday, December 09, 2008
I love the varmint hunter air rifle. Use it a lot around urban areas to hunt small game and wild cats. Its a one shot wonder. Thanks to gamo I can hunt all year long in my back yard.
REVIEW BY:apelus Friday, November 28, 2008
just got the Varmint Hunter this morn.took about 30 min. to sight in the scope and laser{hint sight the scope first then adjust the laser dead center of the cross hairs}used gamo match pellets to sight in with.accuracy is verry good so far,only fired from about 10-15 yrds to sight it in.put about 100 shots through it for sightin....and playin and have had no problems with screws loosening or scope creep. even shot a few of the pba ammo that come with the package and ...WOW little louder and hit harder(deeper penetration into the back stop)than lead and from the yardage i was shooting accuracy wasnt as bad as some reveiws state. good rifle great price.If only those feild mice in the shed would pop up my plans for the day would be .....perfectly EXICUTED. thanks Gamo keep up the great work.
REVIEW BY:bushytail08 Thursday, November 13, 2008
Hard to beet this gun. I've dropped a bushytail from 50 yards away and the pellet hit exactly where I aimed. does well on a windy day too! thanks gamo
REVIEW BY:Nune Wednesday, October 29, 2008
if you are having problems with the scope moving of when you shoot well then get a scope stop it stops the creep from your scope. get it highly recommend it its the only thing that works.
REVIEW BY:Buckslayer Tuesday, October 21, 2008
I love the gun,and it looks like a sniper rifle.It is surprisingly quiet when cocking;I was stalking a squirrel, and I shot at a different one ,reloaded and cotinued stalking.Unfortunately I can't hold a rifle steady so I missed .I am going to adjust the trigger as mentioned below .This rifle has surprisingly good grouping for a breakbarrel rifle.Oh ya ,I sighted it in at 11 at night;the flashlight is great.
REVIEW BY:Jason Tuesday, October 21, 2008
This is an excelent gun for plinking squirls and other small game. I've downd a full grow opposim with her too. It's extremely accurate I'm picking off shotgun shells at 30 yards. the only draw back is the scope. I like the lazer and the light but i switched the scope to a barska 8-32 AO varmit scope and swapped over the lazer and the light and it hasn't let me down yet. it's an excelent gun.
REVIEW BY:arnett Wednesday, October 15, 2008
i luv my gamo varmint hunter its the best rifle I've ever had. I have gamo pistols an to me nothing beats a gamo but a gamo i luv the products keep it up an thanks.
REVIEW BY:Joe & Kathy Monday, August 25, 2008
I own a Gamo Varmint Hunter and I just wanted to comment on it. I love it and its the best gun I could have got for the money. I can hit anything and it is so reliable and accurate. I've had it for 2 years now and have had it in all weather. I've took out rabbits and squirrels with no problem. I love it so much THANK YOU FOR MAKING QUALITY PRODUCTS!!!!
REVIEW BY:Big Hoss Monday, August 18, 2008
I just got the varmint hunter today. I love it!! It has a lot of power is very light and it has a flash-light and laser for night hunting. Awsome!! Great for hunting or having fun.
REVIEW BY:mcrush Saturday, August 09, 2008
Just bought it today and I does what its supposed to. Accurate and powerful. No problems and easy to sight in. I can easily hit cans at 40-50 yds.
REVIEW BY:cat Tuesday, August 05, 2008
very fun gun to plank with and to shoot small varmint with. looking forward to the new nhunter extreme coming out. its said to be the best by far. more powerful than the others.
REVIEW BY:micky mouse Thursday, July 31, 2008
great gun.
REVIEW BY:TIM Monday, July 28, 2008
I bought this gun for 2 reasons the main reason is that it came with a good scope compaired to most rifles with pin point accuracy 2 i Have a full size motocross track built on my land and ground hogs keep digging holes in the take offs and landings so i wanted to use the light and laser to shoot'em it is perfect for those uses however not a good starter gun it is deffinatly geared for an experianced shooter
REVIEW BY:jacob Tuesday, July 22, 2008
this air rifle was the best air rifle i had ever shot. It is also very good for small game and varmint hunting. it is also great for pest control and midnight pest control. hope you have as much fun with this air rifle as I did.
REVIEW BY:Micluke Sunday, July 06, 2008
Try ajusting your trigger, turn your trigger one time around going clockwise. See if that helps with you scope drift. Also are you shooting off a bench meaning a very stable platform? If not start to. Your serial number is located on the right left hand side of the barrel on the flat part just in front of were it breaks open to load. Also I recommened shooting a godd pellet for great accuracy. I found a great one to start with without giving up much velocity is the beeman .177 cal. Silver Bear. 7.1 gr. They are a semi-wadcutter. Good luck. God Bless and shoot safley.
REVIEW BY:el lechero Saturday, July 05, 2008
good rifle, i havent had any problems with it yet, i hope i dont have any in a long time.
REVIEW BY:Sonny Friday, July 04, 2008
Gret gun. I've had it for about a year! I have got alot of varmints, with it!
REVIEW BY:luke fryar Thursday, May 29, 2008
i think its great
REVIEW BY: Thursday, May 29, 2008
Have had problems with scope drift, everything is tight, I can zero, and after 5-6 shot up to 4" off?Where can I find the serial number?


OK OK
Follow Us View Our Videos Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook RSS
Cart Empty
Search Site
Demo Products Gamo Demo Sale
Subscribe to newsletter
Please notify me via email of any Gamo specials and sales
How this benefits you?
Subscribe to newsletter

Recommend This Page
Gamo Resources

Copyright © 2010 Gamo Outdoor USA, Inc. All Rights Reserved

OK OK